• +31 344 577 884
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Mo - Fr 09:00 - 17:00

Does SketchUp Pro also make backups?

Yes, you can set that at:

Windows: Window > Preferences > General
Mac: SketchUp > Preferences > General

1. Create Backup

SketchUp creates a backup file every time you have saved your SketchUp file successfully. This file is an exact copy of the previously saved version of the file. The backup file uses the same name ("NAME.skb" on Windows and "NAME~.skp" on Mac macOS) and is in the same folder as the original file..

2. Auto-save

SketchUp automatically saves you files every five minutes. If your file is called MyDrawing.skp, then SketchUp saves a file named AutoSave_MyDrawing.skp. This auto save file is different from the backup file from 1. above.

So while working on a model, you can have three files: .skp (the original file), the backup file (.skb or ~ .skp), and the auto-save file (Autosave _... skp).

The auto-save files are saved until you successfully save your original file yourself. So if SketchUp crashes while you're working, your auto save file will not be deleted. You can therefore continue working from the point of the last auto-save.

If you have never saved, then there is no location for the auto save file. In that case you will find it here:

 

  • Windows: The file is saved in your "My Documents" folder.
  • macOS: The file is saved in "Users > User name > Library > Application Support > SketchUp # > SketchUp > Autosave"

Note: On both Windows and macOS you can change the default location in which SketchUp stores files:

Windows:
1. Select the menu "Window > Preferences";
2. Choose "Files";
3. Choose a location in the right part for "Models"
4. Press "OK".

Mac:
1. Select the menu "SketchUp > Preferences";
2. Choose "Files";
3. Choose a location in the right part for "Models"
4. Press "OK".


© 2019 Design8 bv. All Rights Reserved.